Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

yellowdot.JPG

 

I don't think that anybody who knows me will accuse me of being a fashion victim like e.g. Carrie Bradshaw, but I admit to having a weakness for yellow dots. No just any yellow dots, but those that you can find in the streets of Paris next to a big, white P on a blue background. As the month of August comes to an end, so does my interest in the yellow dots, however.

 

I think that the yellow dot exists since 2004 when Paris decided to make it free to park in residential areas throughout the month of August. Since the city is more than half empty, not only can you find easily a place to park but you can also leave your car there for free. For Parisians with a residential parking permit it means a saving of €0.65 per day, which is really minimal, but for a tourist or somebody who has not got around to organising the parking permit like me, it makes a huge difference.

 

When you want to park off street in Paris without a permit, you have to pay €0.50 for 15 minutes, and you are only allowed to leave you car in the same spot for 2 1/2 hours, I think. The city makes it even more difficult for visitors, as most parking metres only accept a plastic card (called Moneo) that you buy at the tabac. I have heard that in the next year or so most parking metres wil be able to accept bank cards. Knowing the French I bet that the machines will only accept French bank cards...... It is not all that bad, as parking is free between 7 pm and 9 am as well as on weekends and holidays.

 

I am so fortunate that my employer rents parking spaces in the office carpark, wherefore I leave my car there all the time. However, during August I look at yellow dots and leave my car outside my flat , which is just so convenient. So wonderfully convenient...... Until I get my act together and apply for a residential parking permit, however, I will be trotting between the office and my flat whenever I want to use the car. Who said that cars make people fat and lazy? Not me for sure!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tag(s) : #Living in Paris
Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :