Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

As a teenager I read Robert Frost's poem The Road Not Taken and decided to make it my motto in life:

 

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked
down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

 

Then took the other, as just as fair
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted
wear;
Though as for that, the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

 

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

 

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
two roads diverged in a wood, and I --
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

 

 

Since then I have passed many roads, made many choices, regretted some, but right now the issue is the Road to Paris.

 

I wrote in an earlier article that it is 660 kms to Paris - if you draw a straight line. If you drive, it is actually 787 kms. As there is no way that I am going to drive 787 kms in one go, the Road to Paris will include some some minor deviations.

 

Tomorrow I am going to drive from Marseille to Lacanche in Burgundy. It is 485 kms (4h40 without any breaks). In this village I will visit friends and test drive the dog trailer. The next day I will continue the further 60 kms to Dijon, the capital of Burgundy where I will stay for two nights. Dijon is just north of the Cote d'Or, an excellent wine area, so perhaps Scubi and I should go for a little ride among the fields. Another alternative is the excellent bicycle path along the Canal de Bourgogne where you can cycle leisurely for hours. On Tuesday I am then going to drive the last three hours to Paris (325 kms), and that is when "Charlotte In Paris" actually can begin her adventure.

Tag(s) : #Before Paris
Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :